Image
“Organs and acupuncture meridians associated with tooth position”
Photo Credit:
http://www.littletree.com.au/dofos2.htm

I love being a third year medical student at a naturopathic medical school!!  One minute in my classes I am learning about and experiencing hydrotherapy, acupuncture, Ayurveda, biotherapeutic drainage, and botanical medicine and have direct access to doctor’s feedback and teaching.  Awesome timing for me as I am dealing with some tooth and gum issues this past month.  Everything in the body relates to each other and the teeth are no different.  In Ancient Chinese Medicine, the teeth are a reflection of what is going on in the body.  There is even a biological dentistry meridian tooth chart to show which tooth goes with which part in your body that is having some issues.  Anyone else hear of this chart, this is so cool?!

My recent toothache is a great reminder for me also to keep doing the therapies of biotherapeutic drainage with Pleo-Sanum therapy and Undas prescribed by my doctors, allowing my body to naturally eliminate any toxins in my body and remove any blockages that I naturally acquire from the air I breath, the food I eat, etc.  Of course, I checked in with a dentist to make sure I do not have a tooth infection and I am also under the supervision of amazing physicians and teachers, Dr. Dickson Thom, DDS, NDDr. Sara Hazel, ND and Dr. Robert L. Gear Jr, DC, NMD, as I would suggest to anyone doing anything for their health to have doctor supervision.

Image
Biotherapeutic Drainage Therapies: Pleo-Sanum Therapy and Undas
Photo Credit:
http://www.balancewithin.ca/biodrainage.html

“The body has the potential to naturally eliminate toxins – depending on the body’s toxic load. Biotherapeutic Drainage is the most long-lasting and effective way of restoring health to the body as it works at an intracellular” (in the cell) and (outside the cell) “extracellular level, facilitating the emunctories to remove blockages while respecting natural physiology. Primary emunctories (or organs of elimination) include: the liver, kidney, stomach, intestines, and lungs. Secondary emunctories include the skin and mucous membranes. Opening the emunctories to discharge toxins helps to support physiological functions, encouraging the body towards homeostasis (balance). Hence, physiology will prevail over pathology.”1

Another natural therapy I have discovered during medical school and use is oil pulling.  Oil pulling is an ancient Ayurveda technique and I love this!  One of the oils I use is coconut oil, which has lauric acid in it and is an antimicrobial.  The oil pulling helps pull out bacteria and plague from your teeth and mouth, thus cleaning up the area.  Finally, I have been using oregano oil as a natural antibiotic and antihistamine.

Image
Oil Pulling
Photo Credit:
http://theapplediaries.com/what-is-oil-pulling-and-does-it-work/

I am grateful that nature provides natural ways to aid our bodies to heal naturally!!!  To everyone looking for natural ways to heal, please seek out the guidance of a physician first. What are your favorite natural healing therapies?

Image
Desert Botanical Gardens, Phoenix, AZ
Photo taken by Ginger Hull with a Nikon D40

1. http://www.drsharif.com/whc/node/189 (retrieved on November 10, 2013, 7:50pm)